Payback, With Interest

Chapter 5, Blog 3

By Chuck Wells As Told To Ray Hochgesang

chuckwells2008@gmail.com

 

“What dear?”

She sat on the sofa, paging through the latest “BIGGEST SALE OF THE SEASON” flyer from Kohl’s.

“Did you tell anyone I was training?”

“No, dear.”

“That Mr. Johns has been shooting off his mouth again.”

“I’m afraid he’s not the only one, hon.”

Melinda flipped the flyer to the side, considered her words and frowned.

“Who?” I asked.

“I had to go down to school this afternoon and bail Shannon out of detention.”

“What?”

“She got into a fight with Nicky’s kid.”

“She was fighting a boy? Why?”

“Well, little Nicky was telling everybody what a fool Shannon’s daddy was. That’s why.”

“Oh no.”

Oh yes.”

“Is she all right? Did she get hurt?”

“No, she broke little Nicky’s glasses. I suppose we owe him a new pair of glasses.”

“Great!”

I got my coat and headed for the door.

“Hey, where do you think you’re going?” asked Melinda.

“I’m going to pay big Nicky.”

“Charles?”

“What?”

“Don’t break his glasses, too.”

I knew where big Nicky would be. Where he and the guys were every Thursday night – bowling at Inman’s. If little Nicky was spouting that crap, his old man was, too. It was up to me to shut him up. Those bastards! They can pick on me. They can pick on Melinda. But they weren’t going to pick on my kids.

Could Shannon help it if her dad was a nut-job?

I pulled into the parking lot, drove around the first two rows, and there it was, Nicky’s silver Camaro with those fancy, twirling hubcaps. Parking three spots away, I slammed the car door and steamed into Inman’s. It was packed. I would have plenty of witnesses to testify against me at my murder trial. It didn’t matter, though. I was on a mission. I searched the lanes, but he was nowhere to be seen.

Copyright © 2012 by Chuck H. Wells/Ray Hochgesang

Leave a Reply

