Bang! You’re It

Chapter 11, Blog 4

By Chuck Wells As Told To Ray Hochgesang

chuckwells2008@gmail.com

 

“And that is … ”

“State Champs, of course.”

“Oh, I guess you’re right.”

Dumbfounded, I tried to recall how many track state champions the Vikings might have. I counted the ones I knew on one hand.

“Small club, for sure, Girl. How did you know about me?”

“The sports editor looked it up for me last year. I was thinking about doubling this season. I’m looking for a new challenge.”

“A new challenge?”

“Yeah. And your name came up.”

“You’re going to do the 800, too?”

“Nah, 3,200. 800’s for wimps.”

“Thanks.”

“Ya know what I mean.”

“You’re a junior, right?”

“Yeah.”

“You’ve got way too much ambition.”

Geri laughed in a high-pitched hee-haw. I wondered how I would get back to my training  without seeming rude. I needed to get to work by 8:30.

“And speaking of ambition, what are ya shooting for?”

Without thinking, I said, “I’ll take anything under 1:47.”

That froze Geri in her tracks.

“1:47? For an 800?”

… way to go, Motor Mouth … ”

“I misspoke. Probably anything under two, you know.”

“1:47? That would qualify you for … ”

“A Master’s performance meet, right?”

“No … ”

I could see her crunching the numbers in her head. If Geri were a true aficionado of everything track, she would guess what I was targeting just by that number. Within seconds, her eyes widened. Her mouth flapped open.

“I think you need to be 50 for the Masters. If you ran in the Seventies, you would be under 50. Unless you flunked or … ”

“You can see I don’t do well with math.”

“The Olympics? You’re … ”

“No, I’m just trying to get into shape.”

“I’d say. 1:47? Who’s your coach?”

“Don’t have one.”

“You’re gonna need one. 1:47?”

“Got anyone in mind?”

“Do you want a coach?”

“Maybe, maybe not. I don’t know.”

Geri whirled in front, pointed her index finger at me and pulled the trigger.

“I said I needed a challenge.”

Copyright © 2012 by Chuck H. Wells/Ray Hochgesang

Leave a Reply

