Olympic Obsession 2

Chapter 19, Blog 2

By Chuck Wells As Told To Ray Hochgesang

chuckwells2008@gmail.com

 

Ralphie’s face twisted into an ugly knot. Could he be serious? I’m sure this was the same mope who swore the Olympic Games were a sham existing only for rich kids and other pathetic losers. Didn’t Ralphie say he had more productive things to do like getting drunk?

So I had one question.

“What the hell made you change your mind?”

Ralphie pushed to the edge of the sofa and stood up. His brown eyes burned brick-oven red. His lower lip quivered at 90 mph. The last time I saw him like this, he was getting married.

“I wunt ta give it a try, Chuck,” he said. “Damn, I could kill ya for starting this, putting this thing in my head. I thought it was a bunch of crap. And I still think it’s crap.”

“High-grade crap, that is.”

“But now, I can’t git it outta my head.”

“Obsessed, huh? And … ”

“And if you can make it, I wunt ta give it a try.”

Book it. I was going to Beijing. If I didn’t qualify in the 800, I would go as the coach for America’s newest shot putter. Whenever Ralphie put his mind and heart into something, just get out of the way. Shot Put Mechanics 1, here I come. Better yet, I had an idea.

“Let’s go online and see which meet we should start with,” I said. “I think there’s one in Atlanta in early July.”

“But that’s less than a month away,” said Ralphie. “I don’t know if I can be ready.”

“Ralphie,” I said. “The real question is will they be ready for you?”

Copyright © 2012 by Chuck H. Wells/Ray Hochgesang

Leave a Reply

