Say Uncle

Chapter 33, Blog 3

By Chuck Wells As Told To Ray Hochgesang

chuckwells2008@gmail.com

 

Did I hear her right? My wife said she might care after all. At least, that was how it sounded. I sat up.

“You sure have a funny way of showing it.”

“Charles, I swear. If you would have been up front about it from the start, I would have been the first one on board,” Melinda said with a nod. “I had no inkling how much time and effort this was going to take. I gave it a week, maybe a month tops. I never dreamt …”

I shrugged.

“Honestly, I didn’t think I would make it half this far.” I sighed. “Don’t give it another thought. It ends here.”

Melinda bent down and patted my head.

“The hell it does.”

… stop the presses, Melinda said “hell” …

“You can’t quit,” she said. “We have way too many contracts out there. No one is going to pay us if you don’t compete.”

… and you would be a monkey’s uncle …

“I see. It’s all about business, huh?”

“Dinner’s getting cold.”

“I’ll be there in a minute.”

First, I needed a good, long cry. Tears trickled down my face. Now, Jessie, my 5-year-old, confronted me. Her stare melted my heart with that deep, soulful way kids have when they wanted something.

“Did your mother send you in here?”

“Daddy?”

“What, Pumpkin.”

“Don’t cry.”

“I have to.”

“Why?”

“Because I don’t know what else to do.”

Jessie gave me a hug, and I started to sob. She stepped back, and I could see myself in her pupils. A minute passed, maybe two. She wasn’t going to give in.

“First one to blink, Daddy,” she said. “I win.”

“All right, all right, tell Harry to get busy.”

From the kitchen boomed my coach’s voice.

“I’m already on it, Princess.”

Copyright © 2012 by Chuck H. Wells/Ray Hochgesang

Leave a Reply

