Here We Go Again

Chapter 40, Blog 2

By Chuck Wells As Told To Ray Hochgesang

chuckwells2008@gmail.com

 

“Is THAT your statement?” asked the suddenly impatient official.

A security guard two times the size of Ralphie picked me up with one hand, scooped up the chair with the other hand and reseated me with a thud.

“Finish your damn statement, Sir,” he advised.

Hearing the “Sir” flipped my switch.

“Hey, where’s my coach? I’m not saying anything until …”

“HOLD IT! HOLD IT! I’m right here!” said Harry, wheeling into the cubicle. “Don’t say another word.”

“Where have you … “

“Just this time, Princess, LISTEN to me!”

A bespectacled gentleman, wearing the requisite green polo and khaki shorts uniform, burst in behind Harry. He slammed his mallard green clipboard on the table and sternly motioned for my coach and me to join him in the far corner.

“See here,” he started. “I don’t know what history you have with Genesee, but you both should be kicked out of here and suspended for the rest of your lives for pulling a stunt like that. Understand?”

“He tackled me!”

Harry slapped his right hand over my mouth.

“What about our appeal?” my coach demanded.

The official’s face turned a bright crimson. His lips trembled. He opened his mouth, but nothing rolled out. Harry looked at me and winked.

“I-I don’t like it,” the official finally spitted.

… uh-oh …

“We decided … “

… yes …

“Because of what happened …”

… what …

“To review the race.”

… yes, yes …

“And overturn the results.”

“Overturn?” I asked.

The official glared at me.

“Before yesterday when four women fell in their 800, it was unprecedented,” he said, his face a shade redder.

“Fair is fair,” said Harry.

“I just want you to know,” said the official. “Off the record, I voted against it.”

“We understand,” said Harry.

“You both should be sent home after what happened.”

“On the record?” Harry asked.

Again the official glared at me.

“We decided in fairness to all …”

I could not believe it.

“Both runners who fell …”

Tears welled in my eyes.

“Will be allowed to run in the final.”

Copyright © 2013 by Chuck H. Wells/Ray Hochgesang

2 thoughts on “Here We Go Again

Leave a Reply

